Readings in Feminism: #WITMonth round-up, etc.

Five days into September, and I’m already missing Women in Translation Month and the impetus it brought to my reading during August. Seeing the #WITMonth suggestions on Twitter from other readers as well as translators, publishers and those in the know, coupled with settling into my new role at an organization where translation is at the heart of the agenda, made it one of the most exciting episodes of my 2016 reading so far. I’ve also loved seeing the many reading lists from some of my favourite blogs and magazines, many of which have introduced me to writers I’d never encountered before. Some of these posts are listed below, but be warned: they are guaranteed to increase your bedside book pile to tottering and teetering proportions.

My #WITMonth reads included Near to the Wild Heart, Clarice Lispector’s first novel, which I read in Alison Entrekin’s translation; Panty by Sangeeta Bandyopadhyay, translated by Arunava Sinha; One Hundred Shadows by Hwang Jungeun, translated by Jung Yewon (these last two both from my current publishing crush, Tilted Axis – I can’t wait for their Indigenous Species by Khairani Barokka!), and Mouth: Eats Color, Sawako Nakayasu’s versions of Chika Sagawa and others.

This first week of September, after anglophone (and excellent) forays into the new Penguin Modern Poets featuring Emily Berry, Anne Carson and Sophie Collins, and Naomi Alderman’s latest, The Power, I’m looking forward to discovering Elena Poniatowska, Bae Suah, and Yanick Lahens. One month of women in translation just hasn’t been enough.

Check out these suggestions for more #WITMonth wonders:

Phew, there’s enough in there to make every month #WITMonth for the rest of the year and beyond!

 

 

Leave a Reply

