Readings in Feminism: Women In Translation

It has been an exciting few months since I last posted, during which time I’ve been fortunate enough to begin working at an organization where I am surrounded by books, writers, readers, translators and words day in and day out – it’s a joy.

Partly because of this my reading has recently broadened. I’m hearing about new books and writers and publishing houses that I had never previously heard of, and translation has become an increasingly important part of my understanding of how literature works. I’m beginning to re-world my reading and to learn more about the art of the translator whenever I find a spare five minutes.

I have been interested therefore to read about #WITMonth, Women In Translation Month. Check this introduction from Katy Derbyshire. I’m making my way through the latest Words Without Borders and Asymptote slowly but surely, and can’t wait to get my hands on the first two books from Tilted Axis Press. But for now, I’m reading some Clarice Lispector, translated by Alison Entrekin, though still reeling from Han Kang’s The Vegetarian, translated by Deborah Smith, and Jhumpa Lahiri’s In altre parole, translated by Ann Goldstein (but which I read (mostly) in Italian – the first grown-up, full-length book I’ve read in my third language. I’m now slowly working my way through her lectio for Il Festival degli Scrittori).

It’s wonderful to be meeting accidentally and seeking out new works by women writing in a range of languages, perspectives, and places, and I hope more people will enjoy Women In Translation Month too – it’s holiday season and license to explore, so the perfect time to find something tangential to the well-worn anglophone track.

*

Currently reading:

  • Near to the Wild Heart by Clarice Lispector, translated by Alison Entrekin
  • Dail Pren: Cerddi gan Waldo Williams
  • Sir Gawain and the Green Knight translated by Brian Stone
  • The World Republic of Letters by Pascale Casanova, translated by M. B. Debevoise

 

One thought on “Readings in Feminism: Women In Translation

Leave a Reply

